Spring begins with a chill – April’s First Blooms

It is April first, chilly (35 degrees), sunny, clear blue skies and super wet ground. It has been raining on and off for the last few days but the ground and the plants seem very happy to drink it all up. We did not have the heavy snow cover we often get in Minnesota this winter so spring rains are a good thing right now.

I am beginning my spring walks – watching for blooms. The growth has been very slow with our chilly weather but now as we hit April the length of day and the angle of the sun is making a bit difference.

In my yard there are many spring plants up and beginning to grow but only two blooming right now. The Crocus and the  Winter Aconite (Eranthis Cilicia).  CrocusAcrontie

If I look around I can see the first leaves of the Bleeding Hearts, the Rhubarb, Peonies and much more. Rhubarb

It is also opening day at Eloise Butler Wildflower garden so I stopped by there to see what early blooms are out. Since our spring has been slow to arrive I again found the beginning of Trillium, Skunk Cabbage, March Marigolds, Trout Lilies but there were only two flowers in bloom. The Snow Trillium and the Hepatica were beautiful.

SONY DSC

 

SONY DSC

This season I plan to use this site to document the changes in my garden along with the growth at Eloise Butler. We will see what grows and blooms in a home garden and in the wild garden in the woods.

Happy Planting!

Just for the fun of it this not so wild wild turkey and I had a short conversation while I was wondering the trails of the Eloise Butler Garden.

SONY DSC

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Garden journal, observation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment